
Obtaining  a  Certified
Delaware Criminal History

 

A  Criminal  History  Background  Check  is  obtained  through
fingerprints. You must provide photo Identification, such as a
valid driver’s license or State ID (from any state). You do
not need a social security card or a birth certificate.

 

Juveniles  (under  18)  must  be  accompanied  by  a  parent,  or
guardian to authorize the criminal history. Juveniles must
present either one of the above types of ID’s, or a school ID
is acceptable.

 

The fee for a State of Delaware Criminal Background Check is
$52.00.
The fee for a State and Federal Criminal Background Check
(must be mandated by law) is $65.00.

 

Payment options are cash (except Sussex County), credit or
debit cards, certified checks, money orders, or company checks
made out to Delaware State Police. We do not accept American
Express or personal checks.

 

The  State  Bureau  of  Identification  (SBI),  is  pleased  to
announce that through the Adam Walsh Child Protection and
Safety Act, Delaware Private Schools now have the ability to
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obtain  a  State  and  Federal  background  check  through  SBI,
effective May 1st, 2017. Schools must be registered with SBI
prior  to  any  employee  being  processed.  To  register  your
school, please complete the required form.

Delaware Private School Background Check Form

 

The background checks will be issued directly to the school’s
point of contact and will take substantially less time to
complete then the current process of mailing fingerprints to
the FBI directly. The cost of the background check is $65.00

Locations  and  Hours  of  Operation
for SBI
The Delaware State Police State Bureau of Identification (SBI)
is open for all services.
Appointments may be scheduled by calling: 302-739-2528.

For  everyone’s  health  and  safety,  all
visitors entering the building must wear
a mask.
 

Kent County

To remain consistent with current public health guidelines,
this office will temporarily change from a walk-in facility to
appointment only –
Call 302-739-2528 to schedule an appointment.

https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2019/06/Private_School_form_June_2019.pdf


The office is located at 655 South Bay Road, Suite 1B, Dover,
DE 19901, in the Blue Hen Corporate Center. Enter the road
between Kent County Levy Court and Firestone, then follow the
fingerprint signs.

Hours of operation are:

Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
Call (302) 739-5871 for more information

The results of the completed certified criminal history will
not be returned the same day. The results will be forwarded to
the recipient as soon as operationally possible.

Holiday Closing Schedule

Sussex County
The office is located inside the Thurman Adams State Service
Center located at 546 S. Bedford Street, Room 202, Georgetown,
DE.

Hours of operation are:

Monday –Thursday, 8:30 a.m. – 3:15 p.m.
To schedule an appointment call (302)739-2528
CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED at this location

The results of the completed certified criminal history will
not be returned the same day. The results will be forwarded to
the recipient as soon as operationally possible.

Holiday Closing Schedule

New Castle County
The office is located at  Delaware State Police Troop 2, on
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Route 40, in Bear, just west of the Fox Run Shopping Center,
between routes 72 and 896, across from the Glasgow walking
park and next to the YMCA.

The hours of operation are:

Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
To schedule an appointment call (302) 739-2528

The results of the completed certified criminal history will
not be returned the same day. The results will be forwarded to
the recipient as soon as operationally possible.

Holiday Closing Schedule

Out of State Residents

Mail in request for certified criminal history.
Fingerprints may be taken by your local police agency or any
fingerprinting agency. All ten print fingerprint cards are
acceptable. If the agency will not provide a card, you may
print  a  FD-258  fingerprint  card  that  is  available  on  the
Federal Bureau of Investigation website at www.fbi.gov – click
stats & Services, then Identity History Summary Checks, then
FD-258 Fingerprint Card. You may print the card on regular
paper and present this to the agency for fingerprinting.

 

FOR STATE BACKGROUND: A written authorization letter granting
the Delaware State Police to conduct a background check on the
individual must be signed by the individual. This does not
need to be notarized. Send the authorization letter in along
with a money order made payable to the Delaware State Police
for $52.00 along with your fingerprint card. The fingerprint
card should be filled out entirely to include your name, any
aliases, address, date of birth, social security, sex, race,
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height, weight, eye color, hair color and place of birth.

 

FOR PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS: The Authorization form the board
must  be  signed,  completed  and  included,  along  with  your
fingerprint card and a money order for $65.00 payable to the
Delaware State Police. The fingerprint card should be filled
out entirely to include your name, any aliases, address, date
of birth, social security, sex, race, height, weight, eye
color, hair color and place of birth.

 

An authorization letter, fingerprint card and certified check
or money order, made payable to “Delaware State Police” should
be sent to the below address. PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED

 

MAIL TO:
Delaware State Police
State Bureau of Identification
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE  19903

If you need any other information regarding a certified
criminal history, please call (302) 739-5884.

For more information regarding other services, please choose
appropriate link below:

Professional Licensing Section
Driving Privilege Card (DPC) For Undocumented Immigrants

Carrying a Concealed Deadly Weapon Permit (CCDW)
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