Learn more about the Coronavirus (Covid-19) More Info
“Security alarm business” means a partnership, corporation or other business entity engaged in the sales, installation, service, maintenance, repair, replacement, or provision of monitoring services at a customer’s home or customer’s business. This term does not include a partnership, corporation or other business entity that is engaged in sales of security alarm systems in a retail store location, online or by telephone.
What are the legal requirements to become an Alarm Employee in Delaware?
1. Be at least 18 years of age upon application.
2. No conviction of any felony or other disqualifying crime – see the link below
All legal requirements and regulations…
What is the process to obtain or renew an Alarm Employee License in Delaware?
1. Individuals must call State Bureau of Identification (302)-739-2528 for an appointment. On the appointment day the individual will come into one of two (2) State Bureau of Identification locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover) for fingerprint and picture processing. Address locations are listed below.
State Bureau of Identification
600 S. Bay Road
Dover, DE 19901 Delaware
State Police Troop 2
100 Cpl/1 Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
(front lobby to the left)
2. Individuals must complete an employee application – see the link below. Applications are also available at both State Bureau of Identification (SBI) locations (DSP Troop2/Newark or Dover SBI office).
3. At the time of their appointment at State Bureau of Identification, individuals will be fingerprinted and photographed. Individuals coming to an appointment should bring two (2) specific items:
• Photo Identification (Driver License or State Identification)
• $85.00 fee
4. Upon approval and submission License Identification cards will be mailed to the address listed on the individual’s application. If requested, the individual may return to the Dover State Bureau of Identification office location only to retrieve their License Identification card in person. Alarm Employee Licenses (new or renewed) are valid for five (5) years.
What is the cost for to obtain or renew an Alarm Employee license?
State Bureau of Identification (SBI) accepts cash, certified check, Visa, Master Card, Discover, company check, or money order. SBI cannot accept personal checks or American Express.
How can a Lost or Stolen Alarm Employee License be replaced?
Come into one of two (2) State Bureau of Identification locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover State Bureau of Identification office) and request a replacement. No appointment is necessary. Valid License holders fill out the application for replacement (see the link below) or complete one on site. A license must be valid to be replaced. The replacement fee is $10.00. License Identification cards will be mailed to the address listed on file. If requested, the individual may return to the Dover SBI office location only to retrieve their License Identification card in person.
AGENCY NEW LICENSURES/RENEWALS
The licensure and renewal of an agency must be approved by the Professional Licensing Section on behalf of the Superintendent of the Delaware State Police.
To begin the process of licensure, please start by reviewing the Security Systems and Protective Services Licensing procedures link below and complete the licensing packet.
For the renewal process, a letter of renewal notification will be sent to your agency with the instructions for the renewal application links below: