The Delaware State Bureau of Identification (SBI) is the central repository for criminal history information in the State of Delaware. SBI houses several functions under one roof, including providing certified criminal history information to the public, maintaining Delaware's sex offender registry, quality control of crime reports, and fingerprint examination. The Professional Licensing Section also regulates private investigative and security agencies, alarm companies, constables, bail enforcement agents, pawn brokers, second hand dealers and scrap metal processors. The Professional Licensing Section also reviews applications for and issuance of HR 218 permit to carry cards for retired Delaware Troopers. Retired police officers from other Delaware agencies should contact their respective department for their policies on issuance of the card. Other questions regarding Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapon permits are addressed below.

Page Sections

OBTAINING A CERTIFIED DELAWARE CRIMINAL HISTORY

A Criminal History Background Check is obtained through fingerprints. You must provide photo Identification, such as a valid driver's license or State ID (from any state). You do not need a social security card or a birth certificate.

Juveniles (under 18) must be accompanied by a parent, or guardian to authorize the criminal history. Juvenile’s must present either one of the above types of ID’s, or a school ID is acceptable.

The fee for a State of Delaware Criminal Background Check is $52.50.
The fee for a State and Federal Criminal Background Check (must be mandated by law) is $69.00.

Payment options are cash (except Sussex County), credit or debit cards, certified checks, money orders, or company checks made out to Delaware State Police. We do not accept American Express or personal checks.

DRIVING PRIVILEGE CARD (DPC) FOR UNDOCUMENTED IMMIGRANTS

Applicants desiring to obtain a Driving Privilege Card (DPC) must first submit fingerprints and other necessary information in order for SBI to run a search of Delaware State Criminal Databases before applying for a Driving Privilege Card at Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This is done by appointment only. To schedule an appointment applicants should call SBI at 302-739-2528 or 1-800-464-4357 after December 1st, 2015.

The applicant shall appear at SBI and fill out a DPC Application. This application will require the applicant to attest via affidavit that this is their full and correct name as well as their date of birth. The applicant must present identification documentation. Acceptable documentation shall include the following, with other documentation to be evaluated on a case by case basis:

  • A Birth Certificate
  • A Foreign Passport
  • A Foreign Driver’s License
  • A School Identification that includes a photograph

The applicant will be photographed and fingerprinted. The applicant will pay $52.50 and then be issued a receipt. Payment options are cash (except Sussex County), credit or debit cards, certified checks, money orders, or company checks made out to Delaware State Police. We do not accept American Express or personal checks.  The receipt will be printed with a unique receipt number and future date that they may respond to DMV to apply for the DPC. This receipt must be presented to DMV at the time of application for the DPC.  See the below link for DMV procedures for the DPC.

If a review of the of Delaware State Criminal Databases reveals a conflict between the name the applicant provided and an alias on file with the state or the applicant has an outstanding warrant for criminal charges in Delaware, the applicant must resolve the conflict prior to becoming eligible to obtain the DPC from DMV. 

Locations and hours of operation for SBI are as follows:

Kent County (no appointment needed except for DPC Applicants)

The office is located at 655 South Bay Road, Suite 1B, Dover, DE 19901, in the Blue Hen Corporate Center. Enter the road between Kent County Levy Court and Firestone, then follow the fingerprint signs.

Hours of operation are:

  • Mondays, 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
  • Call 302-739-5871 for more information

The results of the completed certified criminal history will not be returned the same day. The results will be forwarded to the recipient as soon as operationally possible.

Sussex County (by appointment only)

OUR SUSSEX COUNTY OFFICE HAS MOVED EFFECTIVE MARCH 30, 2015

The office is in the Thurman Adams State Service Center located at 546 S. Bedford Street, Room 202, Georgetown, DE.

Hours of operation are:

  • Monday –Thursday, 8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • To schedule an appointment call 302-739-2528.
  • CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED at this location.

The results of the completed certified criminal history will not be returned the same day. The results will be forwarded to the recipient as soon as operationally possible.

New Castle County (by appointment only)

The office is located at  Delaware State Police Troop 2, on Route 40, in Bear, just west of the Fox Run Shopping Center, between routes 72 and 896.

The hours of operation are:

  • Mon, Wed, Thurs, and Fri, 8:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, 11:30 a.m. to 6:15 p.m.
  • To schedule an appointment call 302-739-2528.

The results of the completed certified criminal history will not be returned the same day. The results will be forwarded to the recipient as soon as operationally possible.

Out Of State Residents - (mail in request for certified criminal history)

You may be printed by your local police agency or any fingerprinting agency. All ten print fingerprint cards are acceptable. If the agency will not provide a card, you may print a FD-258 fingerprint card that is available on the Federal Bureau of Investigation website at www.fbi.gov – click stats & Services, then Identity History Summary Checks, then FD-258 Fingerprint Card.  You may print the card on regular paper and present this to the agency for printing.  

An authorization letter, fingerprint card and certified check or money order, made payable to “Delaware State Police” should be sent to the below address. PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED


MAIL TO:
Delaware State Police
State Bureau of Identification
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE  19903

If you need any other information regarding a certified criminal history, please call 302-739-5884.

CARRYING A CONCEALED DEADLY WEAPON PERMIT (CCDW)

If you are looking for a permit to Carry a Concealed Deadly Weapon, you must contact the Prothonotary''s Office as we do not process CCDW permits at SBI.

The Prothonotary's Office may be contacted in each county at:

  • 302-255-0800 New Castle County
  • 302-739-3184 Kent County
  • 302-855-7055 Sussex County

As part of the application process, the Prothonotary's Office will direct you to SBI for fingerprinting at a cost of $69.00 for a State and Federal Background check. (See the previous section on OBTAINING A CERTIFIED DELAWARE CRIMINAL HISTORY for our fingerprint services).

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY

The Delaware State Police Sex Offender Registry (SOR) is headquartered at SBI in Dover. The SOR is responsible for registration, notification, and verification of sex offenders throughout the state. The SOR also updates offender information on the Delaware public sex offender registry at http://sexoffender.dsp.delaware.gov.

Under current law, Tier III high-risk offenders must verify their address, place of employment, and place of study every 90 days. Tier II moderate-risk offenders must verify this information with SBI on a semi-annual basis. Tier I low risk offender must verify this information once annually. All offenders must update the Registry within three days of any change in residence, employment or study. All offenders must appear in person at any SBI location in Kent, New Castle or Sussex Counties to verify their registry information on the before mentioned time table. Homeless Tier III registrants must verify in person at SBI every seven days, Tier II registrants every thirty days and Tier I offenders every ninety days.

The Sex Offender Registry unit also coordinates public notification of registered sex offenders. Such notification may include door-to-door notification, e-mail, flyers and posters. Additionally, all moderate- and high-risk offenders are placed on the State Sex Offender Public Website mentioned previously. The website includes a link, for the public to submit tips concerning non-compliant offenders. Questions or concerns regarding the SOR can be directed to (302) 739-5882.

PROFESSIONAL LICENSING SECTION

Professional Licensing Section regulates:

 1.   Private Investigator & Private Security Employees
 2.   Private Investigative & Private Security Agencies
 3.   Armored Car Employees
 4.   Armored Car Agencies
 5.   Security Systems & Protective Services Employee
 6.   Security Systems & Protective Services Agencies
 7.   Constables
 8.   Bail Enforcement Agents
 9.   Pawnbrokers, Secondhand Dealers, and Scrap Metal Processors
10.  HR 218 - Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004
11. Firearms, Baton, Mace, Handcuff and 16-hour Instructor Information

For all fingerprinting processing and licensure, the hours of operation are:

Kent County
Hours of operation are:

  • Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 3:30 pm
  • No appointments are necessary as we are a walk in facility.
  • Call 302-739-5991 for information
  • Holiday Closing Schedule

New Castle County
Hours of operation are:

  • Mon, Wed, Thurs, and Fri, 8:30 am to 3:15 pm
  • Tuesday, 11:30 am to 6:15 pm
  • By appointment only - Call 302-739-2528 to schedule an appointment.
  • Call 302-834-2628 for information and directions.
  • Holiday Closing Schedule