
Victim Services Section

1-800-VICTIM-1

Delaware became the “FIRST STATE” in the United States to
implement a statewide Victim Center to specifically address
the needs of crime victims and survivors of sudden deaths. The
Delaware State Police implemented this program in 1988 with
partial  funding  through  grants  from  the  United  States
Department of Justice, administered by the Delaware Criminal
Justice Council .
Victims often experience many unfamiliar emotions such as:
shock, disbelief, anger, fear, frustration, or guilt. Victims
may be immobilized by the feeling that their lives will never
be the same. Although these feelings are very normal, victims
who are in a state of emotional crisis often are unable to
work through these feelings on their own. They may not have
the resources to seek professional assistance or may not know
where to seek such support. Victims and/or their families may
suffer financially, physically and/or emotionally. The Victim
Service staff is prepared to assist victims, witnesses and
families with these issues.

 

Goals of Victim Services
Provide short and long term crisis intervention
Act as an information and referral source
Reduce the trauma to victims, witnesses and survivors
Eliminate additional trauma
Coordinate resources through a single agency
Increase positive interaction between victims/witnesses,
survivors and law enforcement

https://dsp.delaware.gov/victim-services/
https://cjc.delaware.gov/
https://cjc.delaware.gov/


Provide a smoother transition into the criminal justice
system in cases where an arrest
Guarantee services in those cases where an arrest has
not been made

 

Services Available at No Cost
24 hour emergency crisis intervention
Information and referrals for appropriate social service
agencies
Court accompaniment
Follow up contacts, calls, letters and/or home visits
Assistance  with  filing  for  emergency  financial
assistance
Landlord/Employer intervention

 

The Victim Service Section of the Delaware State Police is
available 24 hours a day through the toll free hotline, 1-800-
VICTIM-1 (in state) or by calling (302) 659-6823 from outside
of Delaware. There are offices located in each of the three
counties throughout the state. The Victim Service Specialists
are  available  to  respond  to  crime  scenes,  hospitals,
residences, etc at any time, day or night, when requested to
do so by an officer. They are also available to respond to
calls on the 800 line from victims or other agency personnel.
Not only is this unit available to the Delaware State Police,
the services are also extended to over 30 other municipal
departments throughout Delaware that do not have an “in house”
victim service unit.

 

Members  of  this  unit  are  involved  in  various  initiatives
throughout the state such as the annual victim’s tribute,



several  task  force  committees,  domestic  violence  advocacy
center and others. We offer training in the police academy to
new recruits as well as in-service. Training is also available
for other outside agencies as well. We are involved in the
annual domestic violence conference for law enforcement in
Delaware. Members of our unit have been certified as Critical
Incident Stress debriefers and have been certified as Domestic
Violence Specialists.

 

Our unit has received recognition as an outstanding victim
service agency both nationally, by the National Organization
of Victim Assistance (N.O.V.A.) and locally by the Delaware
Victims Rights Task force. Recently, members of this unit
joined other agency representatives from Delaware and traveled
to New York and New Jersey to assist in the aftermath of the
World Trade Center Disaster.

 

This unit compiles and disseminates the Statewide Domestic
Incident Statistical report each month. This report is an
account of the domestic incidents that were responded to by
ALL law enforcement agencies throughout the state. This report
includes such information as the number of incidents responded
to, how many arrests were made, how many incidents had prior
police contact, how many times were children present and/or
involved etc.

 

Delaware  State  Police  Victim
Centers

Toll Free Hotline: 1-800-VICTIM-1

https://www.trynova.org/
https://www.trynova.org/


Headquarters

Debbie L. Reed, Director
Angela Brown, Administrative Specialist II

New Castle Victim Center
Troop 2:
Corrie Schmitt, Sr. Victim Service Specialist

 

Troop 6:
Akilah  Seeney,  Victim  Service  Specialist  (bi-lingual
English/Spanish)

 

Troop 9:
Veronica Colombo, Sr. Victim Service Specialist

Kent County Victim Center

Troop 3:
Casey Wilson, Sr. Victim Service Specialist

Milford State Services Center (Kent/Sussex)

Nina Brown, Victim Service Specialist

Sussex County Victim Center
Troop 4:
Nancy Will, Sr. Victim Service Specialist

mailto:debra.reed@delaware.gov
mailto:angela.brown@delaware.gov
mailto:corrie.schmitt@delaware.gov
mailto:eunice.mercado@delaware.gov
mailto:veronica.colombo@delaware.gov
mailto:casey.s.wilson@delaware.gov
mailto:nina.d.brown@delaware.gov
mailto:nancy.will@delaware.gov


Troop 5:
Crystal Dalton, Victim Service Specialist

 

Delaware Victim Services

Adult Protective Services

Statewide:
Phone: (800) 223-9074
Website: https://dhss.delaware.gov/dsaapd/

Abriendo Puertas

Phone: (302) 855-9515

Attorney General's Victim/Witness Program

NCCo:
Phone: (302) 577-8500
Website:
https://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/criminal/victims_phone/
Kent:
Phone: (302) 739-4211

Sussex:
Phone: (302) 856-5352

Statewide:

mailto:crystal.dalton@delaware.gov
https://dhss.delaware.gov/dsaapd/
https://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/criminal/victims_phone/


Phone: (800) 870-1790

Child Inc. Battered Women's Program

NCCo:
Phone: (302) 762-6111
Website: www.childinc.com

 

Delaware  State  Police  Victim
Services

Delaware Victim Center

Statewide:
Phone: 1-800-VICTIM-1 or 1-800-842-846-1

Division of Family Services (Child Abuse Reporting
Line)
Statewide:
Phone: 1-800-292-9582
Website: https://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_iseethesigns.shtml

Domestic Violence Advocacy Centers
NCCo.:
Phone: (302) 255-0420

http://www.childinc.com
https://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_iseethesigns.shtml


Kent:
Phone: (302) 739-6552

Sussex:
Phone: (302) 856-5843

Family/Friends of Murder Victims
Statewide:
Phone: (302) 998-1403

MADD (Mothers Against Driving Drunk)

Phone: (302) 853-6233 ext 12
Website: www.madd.org

People's Place Battered Women's Program (Shelter
and services for DV victims)

Kent & Sussex:
Phone: (302) 422-8058

Prevent Child Abuse DE

Kent:
Phone: (302) 674-1112

Rape Crisis CONTACT
NCCo.:
Phone: (302) 761-9100
Website: www.contactlifeline.org

http://www.madd.org
http://www.contactlifeline.org


Kent & Sussex:
Phone: 1-800-262-9800

Survivors of Accident and Murder (Support Group)

Statewide:
Phone:(302) 368-9500

U.S. Attorney Victim/Witness Program

Statewide:
Phone: (302) 573-6277 ext 132
Email: susan.baldwin@usdoj.gov

Victims' Voices Heard (Severe Violence Mediation
Program)

Phone: 1-866-424-0890 ext 3

Violent Crimes Compensation Program

Statewide:
Phone: (302) 995-8383

A  compiled  list  of  Delaware  Victim  Services  Agencies  is
available here.

Police  Based  Victim  Services  in

mailto:susan.baldwin@usdoj.gov
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/04/AGENCY-PROFILES2013.pdf


Delaware

Delaware State Police Victim Center

Statewide:
Phone: 1-800-VICTIM-1 (1-800-842-846-1)

Dover Police Victim Services

Kent:
Phone:(302) 736-7134
Website: www.doverpolice.org
Victims’ Rights Task Force

Georgetown Police Victim Services

Sussex:
Phone: (302) 856-6613

New Castle County Police Victim Services

NCCo.:
Phone: (302) 395-8139
Website: https://www.nccde.org/1744/Victim-Services

Wilmington Police Victim Services

NCCo.:
Phone: (302) 576-3622
Email: victimservices@wilmingtonde.gov

http://www.doverpolice.org
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/04/VRTF-Mission-.pdf
https://www.nccde.org/1744/Victim-Services
mailto:victimservices@wilmingtonde.gov



