Learn more about the Coronavirus (Covid-19) More Info

Delaware.gov logo
Delaware State Police Badge

Delaware State Police


Bail Enforcement Agents



“Bail Enforcement Agent” shall mean any person or cooperative of persons, resident or nonresident, whose services or actions are performed for the purpose of capturing a fugitive, and including, but not limited to, any person who engages in the apprehension and return of persons who are released on bail and who have failed to appear at any stage of the proceedings to answer the charge before any state or federal court.

NOT Bail Bondsmen (Please contact the Department of Insurance for licensure)

The Board of Examiners of Bail Enforcement Agents, the regulatory body for this industry, meets on a quarterly basis.

Board of Examiners Meeting Schedule


What are the legal requirements to become a licensed Bail Enforcement Agent in Delaware?

Minimum Requirements

1. Must be at least 21 years of age

2. Must not have been convicted of any felony

3. Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or any charge or been involved in any conduct that may impair the performance of the bail enforcement agent and endanger public safety as determined by the Professional Licensing Section.

4. Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving the act of theft within the last 7 years.

5. Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving drug offenses within the last 7 years.

6. Must not have been, as a juvenile, adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a felony, unless and until that person has reached their twenty-fifth birthday.

7. Must not have been convicted, within the last 7 years, of any 2 of the following misdemeanors: offensive touching or assault III.

8. Must not have been convicted of any offense involving the impersonation of a police officer or a person of trust as defined in Title 11.

9. Must not have been convicted of any criminal offense involving organized gang activity as defined in Title 11.

10. If served in the armed forces, must not have received a dishonorable discharge.

11. Must not be a member or employee of any law-enforcement organization, as defined by the Council of Police Training, or a member or employee of a law-enforcement organization of any other state or federal jurisdiction.

12. Must meet and maintain the qualifications set and approved by the Board pursuant to this chapter and the rules and regulations as promulgated by the Board and approved by the Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security.


What are the legal requirements to become a licensed ARMED Bail Enforcement Agent in Delaware?

Minimum Requirements

1. Be at least 21 years of age upon application.

2. No conviction of any felony or other disqualifying crime – use the link below – Section 6.0/Criminal Offenses.

3. Complete at 40-hour Firearms Course with an approved instructor.

4. Complete and provide shoot sheets for one day and one low light shoot when applying.

Armed Bail Enforcement Agents applicants must review all other Firearms Rules before training or applying – see the link below.

Obtaining an Armed (Red Card) Bail Enforcement License only permits the Agent to Open Carry a firearm. This is not a Concealed Carry Deadly Weapon (CCDW) permit.

Bail Enforcement Agents – Rules & Regulations
https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/5500.shtml

Delaware Code – Title 24 – Chapter 55.
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c055/index.html


What is the process to become a Bail Enforcement Agent in Delaware?

1. Take the mandatory Initial Classroom Training through Delaware Technical Community College (DTCC) See link below.
https://registration.xenegrade.com/dtccstan-wilm/search.cfm?noneFound=1

2. Individuals must apply with State Bureau of Identification and be fingerprinted for a “Bail Enforcement Agent” background check. On the appointment day the individual will come into one of two (2) State Bureau of Identification locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover) for fingerprinting and picture processing. Address locations are listed below.

State Bureau of Identification – Walk-In Availability
600 S. Bay Road
Suite 1
Dover, DE 19901

Delaware State Police Troop 2 – By Appointment Only, please call (302)-739-2528
100 Cpl/1 Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
(front lobby to the left)

3. When appearing at State Bureau of Identification, individuals will be fingerprinted and photographed. Individuals coming to an appointment should bring four (4) specific items:

  • Photo Identification (Driver License, State Identification, or passport)
  • $65.00 fee (State Bureau of Identification (SBI) accepts cash, certified check, Visa, Master Card, Discover, company check,  or money order. SBI cannot accept personal checks or American Express.
  • Bail Enforcement Initial Classroom Training Certificate from Delaware Technical Community College (DTCC)
  • A completed New/Renewal Employee Application

4. After fingerprinting is completed, Delaware State Police Professional Licensing will process the applicant’s background. If approved the applicant will be contacted via email/phone. Once contacted the individual will be required to pick an available badge number for their license and ID card. The badge, ID card, and four (4) year license is $75.00. Applicants may pay in person at the Dover office and receive their license at that time or they can contact professional licensing at 302-739-5991 to pay over the phone and have everything mailed to their residence.


What is the process to become an ARMED Bail Enforcement Agent in Delaware?

1. Armed BEA applicants must complete a 40-hour Firearms Course with an approved instructor. See the link below to access Professional License Approved Instructors. Successful applicants will be issued a shoot sheet upon completion of the course. The shoot sheet must be submitted to Professional Licensing by email to DSP_SBIDetectiveLicensingMail@Delaware.Gov or dropped off in person at the Dover office.

Where can I obtain the mandatory training from an Approved Instructor to become an Armed Bail Enforcement Agent in Delaware?

Applicants must complete a 40-hour Firearms Course with an approved instructor. See the link below to access our Approved Instructors.

Approved Instructors


What is the cost for a Bail Enforcement License?

  • Delaware Technical & Community College (DTCC) initial classroom training – $129.00
  • Bail Enforcement Agent Background – $65.00
  • 4-year Bail Enforcement License, Badge, & ID – $75.00
  • 4-year Bail Enforcement License Renewal – $50.00
  • Delaware Technical & Community College (DTCC) Continuing Education Course – $129.00

The State Bureau of Identification (SBI) accepts cash, certified check, Visa, Master Card, Discover, company check, or money order. SBI cannot accept personal checks or American Express.


How can a Lost or Stolen Bail Enforcement Agent ID Card (Armed or Unarmed) be replaced?

Come into one of two (2) State Bureau of Identification locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover State Bureau of Identification office) and request a replacement. No appointment is necessary. Valid License holders fill out the application for replacement (see the link below) or complete one on site. A license must be valid to be replaced. The replacement fee is $10.00. License Identification cards will be printed on site and given to the requestee at that time.

Lost/Stolen/Name Change Application


How can a Lost or Stolen Bail Enforcement Agent Badge be replaced?

In order to get a replacement badge, you will need to contact professional licensing at 302-739-5991.


Bail Enforcement Agent RENEWAL

1. Individuals must re-apply with the State Bureau of Identification (302)-739-2528 to be fingerprinted for a “Bail Enforcement Agent Renewal” background check. On the appointment day the individual will come into one of two (2) State Bureau of Identification locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover) for fingerprinting and picture processing. Address locations are listed below.

State Bureau of Identification – Walk-In Availability
600 S. Bay Road
Suite 1
Dover, DE 19901

Delaware State Police Troop 2 – By Appointment Only, please call (302)-739-2528
100 Cpl/1 Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
(front lobby to the left)

2. At the time of their appointment at the State Bureau of Identification, individuals will be fingerprinted and photographed. Individuals coming to an appointment should bring four (4) specific items:

  • Photo Identification (Driver License, State Identification, or passport)
  • $50.00 fee (State Bureau of Identification (SBI) accepts cash, certified check, Visa, Master Card, Discover, company check, or money order. SBI cannot accept personal checks or American Express.
  • Bail Enforcement Continuing Education Certificate (most recent)
  • A completed New/Renewal Employee Application

3. After fingerprinting is completed, DSP Professional Licensing will run the applicants background and if approved the applicants renewed license and ID will be mailed out to the applicants’ home address unless the applicant requests to pick it up at the Dover office. The fee for the renewed four (4) year license and ID card is $50.00.


Mandatory Continuing Education – Bail Enforcement Agent

All licensed Bail Enforcements Agents are required to take a yearly continuing education course (except on the year of their initial licensure) through Delaware Technical Community College.

Odd years will be done by completing an online modular test and even years will be eight hours of classroom training.

Failure to complete a continued education training will result in the immediate suspension of your BEA license.


Criteria for licensure can be found at the below links for the law and rules and regulations:

Related Links:

Delaware Code

Rules and Regulations


Related Topics:  , , ,


+