Learn more about the Coronavirus (Covid-19) More Info
Superintendent Colonel Melissa Zebley
New Castle County- The Delaware State Police would like to warn the public about leaving their cars unattended while idling.
The Delaware State Police, Troop 2 Criminal Investigative Unit has recently been handling a rash of vehicle thefts occurring in the New Castle County area. A large majority of the thefts have occurred from gas stations in which a vehicle was left unattended, idling, and unlocked.
The most common practice is a victim leaving their car running in a parking lot while they go into a store for a quick purchase. Some car thieves look for cars idling in parking lots and once they see a car is left unattended, all they have to do is walk up and drive away.
Delaware law states; (Title 21, § 4182) Unattended motor vehicle. No person driving or in charge of a motor vehicle shall permit it to stand unattended without first stopping the engine, locking the ignition, removing the key and effectively setting the brake thereon and, when standing upon any grade, turning the front wheels to the curb or side of the highway. For a first offense, a fine of $25.00 – $75.00 can be imposed.
The suspects in these most recent cases appear to be juvenile males. Anyone with information regarding these incidents is asked to contact the Troop 2 Criminal Investigative Property Crimes Unit at (302) 365-8430. Information may also be provided by calling Delaware Crime Stoppers at 1-800-TIP-3333 or via the internet at http://delaware.crimestoppersweb.com
You can follow the Delaware State Police by clicking on:
Please tell us how we’re doing via our Citizen Satisfaction Survey.
Presented by Public Information Officer, Senior Corporal Jason Hatchell
Released: 101221 1500