Learn more about the Coronavirus (Covid-19) More Info

Delaware.gov logo
Delaware State Police Badge

Delaware State Police

Superintendent Colonel Melissa Zebley


Seaford Woman Arrested on Felony Criminal Charges Following Early Morning Altercation- Thursday


Date Posted: Thursday, February 18th, 2021

Seaford- Delaware State Police arrested 58-year-old Melanie P. Passwaters of Seaford on felony criminal charges following an altercation early Thursday morning.

On February 18, 2021, at approximately 3:11 a.m., Delaware State Police responded to Woodland Drive for a report of shots fired. Through the investigation, troopers determined Melanie Passwaters had fired a shotgun in the air near a 36-year-old female and 31-year-old female acquaintance outside a residence on Woodland Drive. An argument had occurred earlier during the evening between the 36-year-old female and Passwaters before the victim left the residence. The 36-year-old and 31-year-old females later returned to the location in a vehicle. Passwaters responded outside with a shotgun, approached their car while pointing the weapon at it. Passwaters then fired a single shot into the air. The 36-year-old female victim exited the vehicle, and a physical altercation ensued with Passwaters. During the fight, Passwaters bit the victim before another individual at the residence separated the two parties. The victim did not require medical treatment. 

Passwaters was taken into custody without incident and transported to Troop 5, where she was charged with the following crimes:

  • Possession of a Deadly Weapon During the Commission of a Felony (Felony)
  • 2 counts- Aggravated Menacing (Felony)
  • 2 counts- Reckless Endangering 1st Degree (Felony)
  • Assault 3rd Degree

Passwaters was arraigned in the Justice of the Peace Court #3 and committed to Sussex Correctional Institution on a $5,000.00 cash bond.

If you or someone you know is a victim or witness of crime or have lost a loved one to a sudden death and are in need of assistance, the Delaware State Police Victim Services Unit/Delaware Victim Center is available to offer you support and resources 24 hours a day through a toll free hotline 1800 VICTIM-1. (1-800-842-8461). You may also email the unit Director at debra.reed@state.de.us.

You can follow the Delaware State Police by clicking on:

Delaware State Police Official Web Site

Facebook

Twitter

Nextdoor

Please tell us how we’re doing via our Citizen Satisfaction Survey.

Presented by Public Information Officer, Master Corporal Heather Pepper

Released: 021821 1530

-End-

 

image_printPrint This Page

View All News Posts