Learn more about the Coronavirus (Covid-19) More Info
Superintendent Colonel Nathaniel McQueen Jr.
Millsboro– The Delaware State Police have charged three suspects after they falsely reported a shooting incident.
The incident occurred on April 6, 2020 at approximately 2:00 p.m., when Troopers were dispatched to the area of Lynch Road and Daisey Road, Millsboro, for a report of shots being fired. Upon arrival, three individuals were located inside of a vehicle, including; a 22-year-old female of Laurel, 18-year-old Brandon Jones of Selbyville, DE and 20-year-old Tycere S. Bryant of Laurel. Bryant was found to be suffering from a gunshot wound. The initial statements provide to the police by all three individuals, indicated that a vehicle had driven by them and fired a shot as Bryant was standing outside the vehicle where he was subsequently struck. Bryant was transported to the Peninsula Regional Medical Center in Salisbury, Maryland, with non-life threatening injuries. Also present in the vehicle during this incident was the female’s one year old child who did not sustain injury.
Further investigation revealed that the shooting had occurred with inside the vehicle. All three individuals later changed their statements indicating that there was handgun inside of the vehicle when it was accidently discharged by Jones and struck Bryant. A .45 caliber handgun was later located behind Bayshore Church near a ditch off of Lynch’s Road.
Both Jones and the 22-year-old female where transported back to Troop 4 where they were charged with the following:
Jones was arraigned before the Justice of the Peace Court and committed to the Sussex Correctional Institution on $120000.00 cash only bond.
The 22-year-old female was charged with Making False Statement/Filing False Report (misdemeanor). She was arraigned before the Justice of the Peace Court and released on $1000.00 unsecured bond.
Upon Bryant’s release from the hospital, he will be charged with the following:
If you or someone you know is a victim or witness of crime or have lost a loved one to a sudden death and are in need of assistance, the Delaware State Police Victim Services Unit/Delaware Victim Center is available to offer you support and resources 24 hours a day through a toll free hotline 1800 VICTIM-1. (1800 842-8461). You may also email the unit Director at firstname.lastname@example.org.
You can follow the Delaware State Police by clicking on:
Please tell us how we’re doing via our Citizen Satisfaction Survey.
Presented by Public Information Officer, Master Corporal Melissa Jaffe
Released: 040720 0834