Learn more about the Coronavirus (Covid-19) More Info
Superintendent Colonel Melissa Zebley
Bridgeville– Delaware State Police conducted a school bus initiative during the end of January in the Woodbridge School District area to help decrease the number of motorists who disregard stopped school buses with their stop signs and lights activated.
Ten troopers assigned to Delaware State Police Troop 5 conducted this initiative during the morning and afternoon of January 28, 2021. Troopers followed numerous school buses throughout the morning and afternoon on their routes to observe and cite drivers who commit dangerous moving violations, including passing a stopped school bus.
As a result of the initiative, 15 citations were issued for violations ranging from speeding to stop sign violations. In 2020, there were 73 school bus-related crashes. To help reduce the number of crashes and to ensure our children remain safe, the Delaware State Police want to remind drivers of the state’s “Rules of the Road” to keep our children safe when they are getting on or off a school bus. Additionally, it is very important to be aware of the presence of children waiting for the bus during the morning and afternoon hours since it may be dark outside as children attempt to get on and off the bus.
Title 21 Rules of the Road § 4166 Overtaking and passing school bus; stop signal devices.
Overtaking and passing school bus. — When a school bus is stopped and displays flashing lamps the driver of any vehicle approaching the school bus from the front or from the rear shall stop before passing the bus and remain stopped until such bus begins to move or no longer has the red stop lamps activated. On roadway or roadways with 4 or more lanes, the driver approaching from the front shall not stop.
Penalties — Whoever violates this section shall, for the first offense, be fined not less than $115 nor more than $230 or imprisoned not less than 30 days nor more than 60 days or both. For each subsequent like offense occurring within 3 years from the former offense, such person shall be fined not less than $115 nor more than $575, and imprisoned not less than 60 days nor more than 6 months. The minimum fine levied for a violation of subsection (d) of this section shall not be subject to suspension.
Suspension of license. — Upon receiving a conviction for a violation, the Department shall suspend the driver’s license and/or driving privileges for a period of not less than 1 month, nor more than 1 year.
Please see the full subsection of the law: Overtaking and Passing School Bus
You can follow the Delaware State Police by clicking on:
Please tell us how we’re doing via our Citizen Satisfaction Survey.
Presented by Public Information Officer, Master Corporal Heather Pepper
Released: 021521 2325