

# STATE OF DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY DIVISION OF STATE POLICE PROFESSIONAL LICENSING dsp-prolicense@delaware.gov

Licensure Instructions – Class B – Private Security Agency – New & Renewal

<u>Agency Submission Requirements</u> – Agencies must assemble and submit the following items to Professional Licensing.

- ✓ Agency Application link provided on front web page
- ✓ Licensing Fee:
  - \$300 In-State (Delaware) Agency
  - \$500 Out-of-State Agency (not located in Delaware) Agency
- ✓ License Holder Application & Requirements (see below)
- ✓ Agency Bond Form link provided on front web page \$10,000 for In-State & Out-of-State- in the name of the agency
- ✓ 1,000,000 Commercial General Liability Insurance per occurrence. Please have the insurance agency use this address below for the Certificate Holder Delaware State Police Professional Licensing PO Box 430 Dover, DE 19903
- ✓ Any Advertising information to be used in Delaware uniform, patch, badge, seal, vehicle markings, letterhead, business card, advertisement, etc. please review 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 10.0 Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular Markings

## <u>License Holder Submission Requirements</u>

The agency License Holder must be listed on Page #2 of the Agency Application and submit a License Holder Application (*link provided on front page*). License Holder applicants must submit the following:

- ✓ **License Holder Application** *link provided on front page* must be fully completed. Please note this will require outside verifications.
- ✓ Proof of at least 5 years' investigative experience or must have been a police officer for any local, state or federal agency or the equivalent thereof who has graduated from a certified law-enforcement academy or 4 years of experience as a manager with a licensed security agency. Please review License Holder Requirement Details which are outlined specifically on Page #3 & #4.
- ✓ Applicant must schedule a fingerprint/Photo ID appointment with *IdentoGO* using the link below, then present themselves in-person at the appointment location selected. Once fingerprints are obtained *IdentoGO* will then forward all relevant background information to Delaware State Police/Professional Licensing for review.

The License Holder Application Fee is paid directly through *IdentoGO* at the time of application. The Application Fee within the state of Delaware is \$105. Application Fees for applicants using an *IdentoGO* location outside of Delaware will vary.

https://uenroll.identogo.com/

Use Service Code 27S48X

#### License Holder Requirement Details

Applicants are strongly encouraged to review both the law and regulations under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 - Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies prior to applying. Below is a summary of these requirements with specific details.

## **Criminal History Requirements:**

An applicant applying for a license, to own and operate a private security agency, shall have the following qualifications:

- 1. Must be at least 25 years of age
- 2. Must not have been convicted of any felony
- 3. Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving a theft-related offense, drug offense, or moral turpitude within the last seven (7) years, and there are no more than two (2) of such misdemeanors during such person's lifetime; and No misdemeanor conviction occurred during or as a result of employment as a Security Guard or Private Investigator as defined in 24 Del.C. Ch. 13.

#### Investigative Experience:

- Private Investigator License for five (5) years or longer (not a License Holder) must provide verification from the state Please use the Verification Form found on the Application. <u>In addition</u>, a letter documented on agency letterhead from the agency License Holder or owner/operator of the agency where the applicant was or is claiming five (5) years of Investigative experience.
- Investigative Experience for five years from an accredited government agency investigative agency of the United States of America or any State, county, or municipality thereof. For example, Arson Investigator, Fire Marshall. Verification of such must be provided as outlined for a "police officer" below.

#### Police Experience:

- Police will include law enforcement experience recognized under other titles such as Sherriff, Deputy, or other government Certified Peace Officer.
- Five (5) years as a police officer for any local, state or federal agency or the equivalent thereof. Verification must be provided in this format:
  - 1. Letter from a currently serving police agency official designated to verify human resource information.
  - 2. Letter must indicate the applicant left employment in "good standing"
  - 3. Letter must include all start and end dates of employment.
  - 4. Letter must be on official agency letterhead.
- Certified Law Enforcement Academy will include a certified training facility where law enforcement officer employed by the government are trained. <u>Verification for</u> <u>this requirement</u> can be done using any of the following formats:
  - 1. Certified Transcript from the Academy/Training Facility
  - 2. Certificate of Completion from Academy/Training Facility
  - 3. Document attesting to Certification as a Peace Officer or Law Enforcement Officer from an Accreditation overseer for example, COPT or POST in Delaware or other states.

## Management – Security Agency:

- Applicants using "Management: experience will need to show proof of being a manager in a genuine security agency which is licensed to operate in Delaware or any other state.
- Applicants must have been a "Manager for at least four (4) years with this agency. If an applicant is using experience from more than one agency, verification from all agencies must be presented.
- "Manager" shall mean in the case of a corporation, an officer or supervisor, or in the case of a partnership, a general or unlimited partner meeting the experience qualifications set forth a private security agency.

# Please note the following:

- > Resumes or personal biographies are not accepted for verification purposes.
- "wet" signatures must be provided on required letters
- > Corrections Officers, Auxiliary Police, Fire Police are not considered Police, Law Enforcement or Peace Officers for the purpose of this application.
- Applicants are strongly encouraged to confirm all elements of their application before submitting and to clarify the same with Professional Licensing. Application fees are not refundable.
- ➤ Investigative Experience and/or Police Experience will only be required for applicants who are initially applying as a License Holder and are not required for concurrent renewals.

## Submission of Application and other information

US Mail / FedEx / UPS or any delivery service...

Delaware State Police Professional Licensing – Attn: Class B New/Renewal 600 South Bay Road Suite 1 Dover, DE 19901

Remember – Fingerprints and ID Card Photographs are now submitted to the Delaware State Police through *IdentoGO*. Fingerprint cards not submitted from IdentoGO will be returned and will delay application processing.

## Processing / Board Approval

Processing of the agency application will begin once all information outlined is received including fingerprints from *IdentoGO*. Failure to submit requested information in a timely manner will result in processing delays.

Please understand all Agency New Applications and Renewals must be presented and approved by the Board of Examiners. This Board meets quarterly through the year (January/February, April/May, July/August, October/November). All efforts to provide agencies with a firm date of such Board Meetings and the respective cut-off date will be made. Application submissions will generally be due thirty (30) days prior to the Meeting date.

Agencies are strongly encouraged to understand when licenses and/or license holder fingerprints expire. Failures to renew in a timely manner may result in licensing being delayed until the next regularly scheduled Board Meeting. Such delays may result in an interruption to agency operations.

#### Questions or other information

For questions or other information, please contact Professional Licensing:

- **302-739-5911**
- dsp-prolicense@delawware.gov

Thank you.