Retired Delaware State Police (DSP) – HR218

HR 218

This information is for retired DELAWARE STATE POLICE officers only. Retired officers from other agencies/states must contact their retiring agency for further information

The HR 218 Law Enforcement Officer’s Safety Act of 2004 Advisory developed by the Delaware Department of Justice for Retired Delaware State Police officers can be obtained using the link below.

HR 218 Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004 Advisory


Newly Retiring Delaware State Police HR218 Initial Application

Newly retiring Delaware State Police will make their initial HR218 application to Professional Licensing.
1. Contact Leeah Christine to make an appointment for fingerprinting and photograph.
Leeah Christine at (302) 672-5385 or Leeah.Christine@delaware.gov

2. Complete the HR218 Application using the link below.

DSP Application and Affidavit

3. When arriving for your appointment please bring your HR218 Application and $27.00 Initial fee.


Retired Delaware State Police HR218 Renewal & Shoot Schedule

Retired Delaware State Police will renew an HR218 through Professional Licensing.
1. Contact Leeah Christine to schedule a shoot date of your choice at the Delaware State Police Firearms range. Consult the Shoot Date Calendar below.
Leeah Christine at (302) 672-5385 or Leeah.Christine@delaware.gov

Current Shoot Dates

2. Complete the HR218 Renewal Application using the link below.

DSP Renewal Application and Affidavit

3. Submit your application and $20.00 fee to Professional Licensing in-person or mail to Professional Licensing at this address:

Delaware State Police Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE 19903

Attn: Leeah Christine

For any questions regarding Delaware State Police HR218 please contact:

Leeah Christine at (302) 672-5385 or Leeah.Christine@delaware.gov

Frank Kaleta at (302) 672-5346 or Frank.Kaleta@delaware.gov


Delaware State Police Range Officers Only:

DSP Shoot Qualification Form


Concealed Carry Deadly Weapons (CCDW) Permits – Retired DSP only

Retired Delaware State Police officers who wish to obtain a CCDW permit, please contact Sergeant Dana Berry / Professional Licensing at 302-672-5357 or dana.berry@delaware.gov

Concealed Carry Deadly Weapon Permit (CCDWP) – Delaware Attorney General Office

https://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/criminal/concealed-carry-deadly-weapons-ccdw/


Pawnbrokers, Secondhand Dealers, & Scrap Metal Processors

The licensure of a Pawnbroker, Secondhand Dealer or Scrap Metal Processor (PBSS) is governed by Title 24 Chapter 23 of the Delaware Code and the Rules and Regulations. For licensing purposes the definitions are as follows:

  • Pawnbroker – the business of lending money on the deposit or pledge of personal property or other valuable things; the purchase of personal property with an expressed or implied agreement or understanding to sell it back at a subsequent time at a stipulated price; or to lend money upon goods, wares or merchandise pledged, stored or deposited as collateral security.
  • Secondhand Dealer – the business includes any volume of selling or receiving previously owned, used, rented or leased tangible personal property.
  • Scrap Metal Processor – the business of selling or receiving any worn out or discarded metal, old iron, used plumbing fixtures, other metal, automobiles, automobile parts, chain, copper, lead, brass or other parts of machinery.

Criteria for licensure:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Must not have been convicted of any Felony within 5 years of application date.
  • Must not be convicted of any misdemeanor involving theft or fraud within 5 years of application date.
  • Must not be convicted of any misdemeanor involving drugs within 3 years of application date.

Licensing Procedures:

Each business who is obtaining their initial license must complete a PBSS application. An individual who is applying must complete the PBSS Applicant application, page 2. If the business is a partnership or a corporation, each partner/corporate officer must complete the PBSS Partner/Corporate Officer application, page 3. Initial applications can be submitted at any time during the calendar year.

  • Must include Licensing Fee of $50.00 paid by company check, certified check, or money order made payable to Delaware State Police.
  • All correspondence should be sent to the address listed on the application letterhead.
  • Must include a copy of your State of Delaware Division of Revenue Business License.
  • Pawnbroker agencies must also maintain and submit a current copy of a $50,000 fire insurance policy. Please have your insurance agency use the below address for a certificate holder:

Delaware State Police
Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE 19903


Renewal Procedures:

Any business submitting a Renewal MUST submit the application in its entirety. You must also indicate any changes to your Criminal History. The renewal fee of $50.00 must be also be included.
Renewal applications and questions should be directed to:

Mrs. Ashley N. Bauguess
Professional Licensing
Delaware State Police
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE, 19903
(302) 672-5337
ashley.bauguess@delaware.gov

  • Licenses must be displayed in the building whose address is listed on actual document.  All licenses will expire December 31st of each year.

PBSS New/Renewal License Application


Change in Agency Status:

Should a business have a change in address, phone number, e-mail, contact or ownership, an e-mail must be sent to ashley.bauguess@delaware.gov immediately.


Related links:

Delaware Code

Rules and Regulations


Professional Licensing Section

Our Kent County office has moved. The new address is 600 S. Bay Road Suite 1, Dover, DE  19901 (across the highway from our previous office).

The Professional Licensing Section oversees the following industries: 1) Private Investigator & Private Security Agencies (PI & PSA) – security guards, firearms guards, private investigators, armored card guards, and their respective agencies; 2) Security Alarm Systems & Protective Services Agencies (SAS & PSA) – alarm employees and their agencies; 3) Pawnbrokers, Secondhand Dealers, & Scrap Metal Processors (PBSS); 4) Constables – entities and individuals; 5) Bail Enforcement Agents (BEA) – NOT Bail Bondsmen; 6) Retired DSP – HR 218.

Please review information on each particular industry or topic outlined below. You may contact the Professional Licensing Section either by phone or email: dsp_sbidetectivelicensingmail@delaware.gov or phone (302)739-5991.

The State Bureau of Identification (SBI) processes applicants applying for a license in any of the industries overseen by Professional Licensing and other state agencies. SBI is the physical location where an applicant completes and provides necessary documentation for their license background, is fingerprinted and photographed.

State Bureau of Identification (SBI) has two (2) Locations for Background Checks, Fingerprinting and Photographs

State Bureau of Identification – Walk-in (No appointment necessary at Dover location)
600 S. Bay Road
Suite 1
Dover, DE 19901

Delaware State Police Troop 2 – By Appointment Only, please call 302-739-2528
100 Cpl/1 Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
(front lobby to the left)

Normal Business Hours for both locations are 8:30 AM to 3:30 PM, Monday-Friday, Lunch period (no transactions) between 12:00 PM-12:30 PM. Both locations are Closed on Evenings, Weekends (Saturday & Sunday) and Holidays.

 

2021 Holiday Schedule

Professional Licensing Individual Applicant/License Holder Fee & Expiration Schedule

The Dover SBI Location is again providing Walk-In Appointments. The Troop 2 (Newark) location remains by Appointment Only, please call 302-739-2528. Pleae be patient as call volume may be heavy and may require calling back at a later time.

 

 

 

Security Guard Holding a Walky Talky

Security Guards/ Armed Security Guards

This section will give you guidance on how to become a security guard, armed security guard and how to obtain a private security agency license. In addition, you will find a link to the governing law and rules and regulations found under Title 24 Chapter 13 in the Delaware Code.

Learn More

Fingerprint technology

Private Investigators

This section will give you guidance on how to become a private investigator and how to obtain a private investigative agency license. In addition, you will find a link to the governing law and rules and regulations found under Title 24 Chapter 13 in the Delaware Code.

Learn More

Amored Car Guards

Armored Car Guards

This section will give you guidance on how to become an armored car guard, unarmed and armed and how to obtain an armored car guard agency license. In addition, you will find a link to the governing law and rules and regulations found under Title 24 Chapter 13 in the Delaware Code.

Learn More

 

 

Alarm Key Pad

Alarms

This section will give you guidance on how to become an alarm employee and how to obtain an alarm agency license. In addition, you will find a link to the governing law and rules and regulations found under Title 24 Chapter 12 in the Delaware Code.

Learn More

Pawnbroker Owner

Pawnbrokers, Secondhand Dealers, & Scrap Metal Processors (PBSS)

This section will give you guidance on how to obtain a pawnbroker, secondhand dealers and scrap metal processer agency license. In addition, you will find a link to the governing law and rules and regulations found under Title 24 Chapter 23 in the Delaware Code.

Learn More

Gavel and Money

Bail Enforcement Agents (BEA)

This section will give you guidance on how to become a licensed bail enforcement agent. In addition, you will find a link to the governing law and rules and regulations found under Title 24 Chapter 55 in the Delaware Code.

Learn More

 

 

Badge, gun, handcuffs

Constables

This section will give you guidance on how to have an entity approved for constable positions and potential applicants to become constables. In addition, you will find a link to the governing law and rules and regulations found under Title 10 Chapter 27 in the Delaware Code.

Learn More

DSP Boots, Badge, Gloves, Hat and Flag

Retired Delaware State Police (DSP) – HR218

This section will give you guidance on how to obtain the Retired Delaware State Police HR 218 LEOSA.

Learn More

Apple, pencil, bullets and fun on top of American Flag

Instructors

This section will give you guidance on how to become an approved firearms instructor, security guard instructor or bail enforcement agent instructor. Approved instructors may only train/instruct individuals applying for a license through the Professional Licensing Section.

Learn More