Instructors

This Section will provide direction for those individuals who wish to provide…

• Firearms training to Armed Security Guards, Bail Enforcement Agents, Armored Car Employees or Constables.

• Security License Instruction to Unarmed Security Guards

• Training to Bail Enforcement Agents


Professional Licensing only approves instructors who provide firearm training to individuals applying for a license through Delaware State Police – Professional Licensing. This would only include Armed Security Guards, Armored Car Employees, Bail Enforcement Agents and Constables.

This section does not apply to individuals who wish to provide firearms training for Concealed Carry Deadly Weapon (CCDW) Permit holders. For information on this consult the Delaware Attorney General Office using the link below.

Concealed Carry Information DE Attorney General

Use the link below to view Firearms Instructors currently approved through Professional Licensing.

DSP/Professional License Approved Firearm Instructors


Before applying to become an approved Firearms instructor, please review the information at each link below:

Firearms Guidelines & Curriculum

Bail Enforcement Agent Law Rules & Regulations- Firearms

Constables Law Rules & Regulations- Firearms

Firearms Security Guard – Armored Car Guard Law Rules & Regulations- Firearms


To become an approved Firearms instructor please complete the form below:

Firearms Instructor Information Form

• When applying, please submit current proof of certification by the National Rifle Association as a NRA  LE instructor, a law enforcement training and standards commission (i.e. C.O.P.T.), and/or another professional firearms training institution as a “certified law enforcement firearms instructor.”  All certifications must have an expiration date listed.

• For more information on NRA LE – Law Enforcement Firearms Instructor Certification visit – https://le.nra.org/law-enforcement-training/

For Professional Licensing Information regarding Firearms Instruction please contact Wendy S. Meyers at 302-672-5305 or wendy.meyers@delaware.gov for more information


Current Firearms Instructor forms – to be used by approved instructors only:

Firearm Certification/Recertification Form

Firearm Weapon Change/Add Form

 

REMINDER regarding the Firearms 40-Hour Course:

• The course only covers a day and low light shoot. Another day shoot must be done within the calendar year – 90 days later.

• To remain qualified, firearms qualifications must be done three (3) times per calendar year, with the two (2) day shoots at least 90 days apart. The low light shoot may be combined with one of the day shoots.

To become an approved mandatory Security Guard Instructor (also known as Train-the-Trainer):

• You must pass the Train the Trainer (TTT) course taught by Delaware Technical Community College (DTCC) which is the only Board Approved Training facility permitted to certify instructors.
Please contact Delaware Technical Community College at 302-454-3956 or sg-workforcedevelopment@dtcc.edu for more information.
• You must be employed by a Board licensed Security Guard Agency or a Board Approved Training facility (DTCC, Sussex Tech HS or Defencify).
• You must present an Affidavit (see below) from the agency verifying your employment prior to registering for the DTCC Instructor class.
• You may only train employees or potential employees of agencies that employ you as per the Administrative Code, Title 24, Section 4.0.
• Your Instructor certification is valid for five (5) years from date of issue. After five (5) years you will need to take the Instructor Certification course again and re-submit documentation.

Train the Trainer Affidavit

Security Guard Training Certificate – to be used by certified Security Guard Instructors only

• The attached form is presented by certified Security Guard Instructors to students who successfully complete their Security Guard mandatory Security License Class.
• This form will allow students access to the Delaware Security Guard License Class administered exclusively at Delaware Technical & Community College (DTCC).
• Students must possess this fully completed and signed certificate or they will be denied entry to the Test/Exam.
• Students must also present a copy of this certificate to Professional Licensing when applying for their security license/being fingerprinted.
• Instructor certifications may be used by the instructor to satisfy the Training Certificate necessary if he/she is applying for an Unarmed/Yellow Card Security License.

Security Guard Training Certificate

For information or questions on Security Guard Instruction/Train-the-Trainer please contact Frank Kaleta at or frank.kaleta@delaware.gov for more information.

Training of Bail Enforcement agents is conducted at a Board approved facility. The only approved facility is Delaware Technical & Community College (DTCC) who is responsible for the selection of Bail Enforcement instructors.


Related Links:

Delaware Code

Rules and Regulations

 


Pawnbrokers, Secondhand Dealers, & Scrap Metal Processors

The licensure of a Pawnbroker, Secondhand Dealer or Scrap Metal Processor (PBSS) is governed by Title 24 Chapter 23 of the Delaware Code and the Rules and Regulations. For licensing purposes the definitions are as follows:

  • Pawnbroker – the business of lending money on the deposit or pledge of personal property or other valuable things; the purchase of personal property with an expressed or implied agreement or understanding to sell it back at a subsequent time at a stipulated price; or to lend money upon goods, wares or merchandise pledged, stored or deposited as collateral security.
  • Secondhand Dealer – the business includes any volume of selling or receiving previously owned, used, rented or leased tangible personal property.
  • Scrap Metal Processor – the business of selling or receiving any worn out or discarded metal, old iron, used plumbing fixtures, other metal, automobiles, automobile parts, chain, copper, lead, brass or other parts of machinery.

Criteria for licensure:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Must not have been convicted of any Felony within 5 years of application date.
  • Must not be convicted of any misdemeanor involving theft or fraud within 5 years of application date.
  • Must not be convicted of any misdemeanor involving drugs within 3 years of application date.

Licensing Procedures:

Each business who is obtaining their initial license must complete a PBSS application. An individual who is applying must complete the PBSS Applicant application, page 2. If the business is a partnership or a corporation, each partner/corporate officer must complete the PBSS Partner/Corporate Officer application, page 3. Initial applications can be submitted at any time during the calendar year.

  • Must include Licensing Fee of $50.00 paid by company check, certified check, or money order made payable to Delaware State Police.
  • All correspondence should be sent to the address listed on the application letterhead.
  • Must include a copy of your State of Delaware Division of Revenue Business License.
  • Pawnbroker agencies must also maintain and submit a current copy of a $50,000 fire insurance policy. Please have your insurance agency use the below address for a certificate holder:

Delaware State Police
Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE 19903


Renewal Procedures:

Any business submitting a Renewal MUST submit the application in its entirety. You must also indicate any changes to your Criminal History. The renewal fee of $50.00 must be also be included.
Renewal applications and questions should be directed to:

Mrs. Ashley N. Bauguess
Professional Licensing
Delaware State Police
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE, 19903
(302) 672-5337
ashley.bauguess@delaware.gov

  • Licenses must be displayed in the building whose address is listed on actual document.  All licenses will expire December 31st of each year.

PBSS New/Renewal License Application


Change in Agency Status:

Should a business have a change in address, phone number, e-mail, contact or ownership, an e-mail must be sent to ashley.bauguess@delaware.gov immediately.


Related links:

Delaware Code

Rules and Regulations


Constables

The Board of Examiners of Constables is the regulatory body for this industry. The meeting schedule can be found on the link below.

State Police Board of Examiners of Constables Meeting Calendar


New Entity/New Commissions

A new entity requesting constable positions must be approved by the Board of Examiners.

Individuals who want to become a new Constable must be sponsored by a licensed entity and must also be approved by the Board of Examiners.

Information for the licensing procedures, for both the entity and new commissions, can be found at the link below:

Licensing Procedures

Constable Entity Information Form

Constable Employee Application


Approved firearm instructors can be found at the link below:

Approved Instructors

Please contact Wendy Meyers at 302-672-5305 for more information.


Related Links:

Delaware Code
Rules and Regulations


Armored Car Guards

“Armored car guard” shall mean an individual employed by an armored car agency to perform duties as described under the definition of armored car agency.

“Armed” shall mean any private security guard or armored car guard who carries or has immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his or her duties.

What are the legal requirements to become a licensed UNARMED Armored Car Guard in Delaware?

Minimum Requirements

1. Be at least 18 years of age upon application.

2. No conviction of any felony or other disqualifying crime – use the link below – Section 6.0/Criminal Offenses

 

What are the legal requirements to become a licensed ARMED Armored Car Guard in Delaware?

Minimum Requirements

1. Be at least 21 years of age upon application.

2. No conviction of any felony or other disqualifying crime – use the link below – Section 6.0/Criminal Offenses.

3. Complete at 40-hour Firearms Course with an approved instructor.

4. Complete and provide shoot sheets for one day and one low light shoot when applying.

Armed Armored Guard applicants must review all other Firearms Rules before training or applying – see the link below.

 

Armored Car Agency – Rules & Regulations
https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/1300.shtml

Delaware Code – Title 24 – Chapter 13.
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c013/index.html


What is the process to become an UNARMED Armored Car Guard in Delaware?

1. Individuals must call State Bureau of Identification (302)-739-2528 for an appointment. On the appointment day the individual will come into one of two (2) State Bureau of Identification locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover) for fingerprint and picture processing. Address locations are listed below.

State Bureau of Identification
600 S. Bay Road
Suite 1
Dover, DE  19901

Delaware State Police Troop 2
100 Cpl/1 Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
(front lobby to the left)

 

2. Individuals must complete an employee application – see the link below. Applications are also available at both State Bureau of Identification (SBI) locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover SBI office).

New/Renewal Employee Application

 

3. At the time of their appointment at State Bureau of Identification, individuals will be fingerprinted and photographed. Individuals coming to an appointment should bring two (2) specific items:

• Photo Identification (Driver License or State Identification)
• $85.00 fee

 

4. Upon approval and submission License Identification cards will be mailed to the address listed on the individual’s application. If requested, the individual may return to the Dover State Bureau of Identification office location only to retrieve their License Identification card in person. Unarmed Armored Car Licenses (new or renewed) are valid for two (2) years. Armed Armored Car Licenses must be renewed annually.

 

What is the process to become an ARMED Armored Car Guard in Delaware?

1. Armed Guard applicants must complete a 40-hour Firearms Course with an approved instructor. See the link below to access Professional License Approved Instructors. Successful applicants will be issued a shoot sheet upon completion of the course. The shoot sheet must be submitted to Professional Licensing upon making application.

After completing Firearms training the remainder of the process is the same for Unarmed Guards outlined above #1 – #4.

 

Where can I obtain mandatory training from an Approved Instructor required to become an Armed (Red Card) Armored Car Guard in Delaware?

Armed Guard applicants must complete a 40-hour Firearms Course with an approved instructor. See the link below to access Professional License Approved Instructors.

Approved Instructors


What is the cost for an Unarmed or Armed (Red Card) security license?

• Unarmed (Yellow Card) Armored Car applicant – $85.00

• Armed (Red Card) Armored Car applicant with shoot sheets – $85.00

• If Unarmed and upgrading to an Armed (Red Card) at a later date, there is an additional $30.00 fee

State Bureau of Identification (SBI) accepts cash, certified check, Visa, Master Card, Discover, company check, or money order. SBI cannot accept personal checks or American Express.


How can a Lost or Stolen Armored Car Guard License (Armed or Unarmed) be replaced?

Come into one of two (2) State Bureau of Identification locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover State Bureau of Identification office) and request a replacement. No appointment is necessary. Valid License holders fill out the application for replacement (see the link below) or complete one on site. A license must be valid to be replaced. The replacement fee is $10.00. License Identification cards will be mailed to the address listed on file. If requested, the individual may return to the Dover SBI office location only to retrieve their License Identification card in person.

Lost/Stolen/Name Change Application


Armored Car Guard FAQ’s 

ARMED Armored Car Guard FAQ’s


Armored Car Agency License – NEW

To begin the new licensure process, see procedures link below and follow the check list that applies to your agency.

 

Agency License- RENEWAL

Renewal procedures will be sent in a notification letter to the agency with the renewal instructions.

Armored Car (Class D) Licensing Procedures

Agency Application

License Holder Application

Agency Bond Form

 

The Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies, the regulatory body for this industry, meets on a quarterly basis. New licensure and any renewals with changes of an agency must be approved by the Board of Examiners.

Board of Examiners Meeting Schedule