
Instructors
These approvals are for individuals to instruct only to those
individuals applying for a license through the Professional
Licensing Section.

Approved Instructors

REMINDER

The Firearms 40 hour course covers ONLY a day and low light
shoot. Another day shoot must be done within the calendar year
– 90 days later. To remain qualified, firearms qualifications
must be done three times per calendar year, with the two day
shoots at least 90 days apart. The low light shoot may be
combined with one of the day shoots.

Before applying to become an approved FA instructor, please
review the information at each link below:

Firearms Guidelines & Curriculum

Firearm Certification/Recertification Form

Bail Enforcement Agent Law Rules & Regulations- Firearms

Constables Law Rules & Regulations- Firearms

Firearms Security Guard – Armored Car Guard Law Rules & Regula
tions- Firearms

Firearm Weapon Change/Add Form

To become an approved FA instructor please complete the form
below:

FA Instructor Information Form

https://dsp.delaware.gov/instructors/
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2020/10/approved-SG-FA-instructors-public-list-102020.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/08/firearms-40-hour-course-guidelines-curriculum.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/08/firearm-certification-re-cert-form-January-2018.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/08/bail-enforcement-agent-law-title-24-chapter-55-firearms.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/08/constables-law-rules-regs-firearms.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/08/firearms-guard-armored-car-guard-law-rules-regs-firearms.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2018/08/firearms-guard-armored-car-guard-law-rules-regs-firearms.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2019/07/firearm-weapon-change-add-form.pdf
https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2020/09/FA-INSTRUCTOR-INFO-SHEET-2020.pdf


Please  submit  current  proof  of  certification  by  the
National Rifle Association as a NRA LE instructor, a law
enforcement  training  and  standards  commission  (i.e.
C.O.P.T.), and/or another professional firearms training
institution  as  a  “certified  law  enforcement  firearms
instructor”.  All certifications must have an expiration
date listed.
Please  contact  Wendy  S.  Meyers  at  302-672-5305  or
wendy.meyers@delaware.gov for more information.

Private Security Guard Training

To become an approved mandatory security guard instructor you
must pass the Train the Trainer course taught by Delaware
Technical  Community  College.   You  must  be  employed  by  a
Delaware State Police licensed Security Guard Agency and you
must present written approval from the agency to train their
employees.  You can only train individuals for the agencies
that employ you as per the Administrative Code, Title 24,
Section 4.0.

Please contact Delaware Technical Community College at
302-454-3956  or  sg-workforcedevelopment@dtcc.edu  for
more information.

Related Links:

Delaware Code

Rules and Regulations

 

mailto:wendy.meyers@delaware.gov
mailto:sg-workforcedevelopment@dtcc.edu
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c013/index.shtml
http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/1300.shtml

