Learn more about the Coronavirus (Covid-19) More Info
Armored Car Guard registration requirements.
Anyone who wishes to be licensed, under this chapter, as a noncommissioned security guard, must meet and maintain the following requirements:
(1) Must be at least 18 years of age;
(2) Must not have been convicted of any felony;
(3) Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving a theft-related offense, drug offense, or moral turpitude, within the last 7 years, and:
a. There are no more than 2 of such misdemeanors during such person’s lifetime; and
b. No misdemeanor conviction occurred during or as a result of employment in a capacity regulated by this chapter.
(4) Must not have been, as a juvenile, adjudicated delinquent for conduct which, if committed by an adult would constitute a felony, unless and until that person has reached his or her twenty-first birthday;
(5) If served in the armed forces, must not have been dishonorably discharged;
(6) Must not be a member or employee of any law-enforcement organization, as defined by the Council of Police Training;
(7) Must meet and maintain the qualifications set and approved by the Board of Examiners..
|Unarmed Armored Car Guard||Armed Armored Car Guard|
|-Yellow Card||-Red Card|
|-If certified – can carry Baton, O/C, Handcuffs.||-If certified – can carry Baton, O/C, Handcuffs.|
|Not permitted to carry a Firearm||-Permitted to Carry a Firearm when certified|
• The Board approves Armored Car Guards (Unarmed & Armed) registered in 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to carry law enforcement style batons, inflammatory agent sprays, chemical sprays and handcuffs.
• The carrying of these weapons/items is only authorized after the guard completes the appropriate training program with a certified instructor as required by the manufacture of the weapon/item.
• It shall be the guard’s and the agency responsibility to maintain certification and requalification with the weapon/item consistent with manufacturer standards.
• Please note while Delaware regulations may permit all outlined items, individual agencies will decide if their guards may carry such items.
Professional Licensing is a section of the Delaware State Police assigned to regulate several occupations including Armored Car Guard Agencies and Guards. This includes conducting background investigations and records checks of both. Professional Licensing is the investigative and operational arm of the Board of Examiners of Private Security Agencies including Armored Car Agencies.
The State Bureau of Identification/Front Desk is assigned to process individuals applying to be Armored Car Guards. This includes obtaining identification information, fingerprints, and photographs of applicants.
The Board of Examiners for Private Security Agencies determines and promulgates the qualifications and regulations for Armored Car Guards (Unarmed & Armed) in Delaware. The Board is responsible to investigate alleged violations of state law regarding guards. Upon review the Board may deny, suspend or revoke licenses as necessary and hear appeals of the same.
Armed (Red Card) Armored Car Licenses are valid for a period of one year. Armored Card agencies must provide the Professional Licensing Section with documentation indicating employees (Armed Guards) are compliant with firearm certification and recertification requirements by January 15th of each year for the previous calendar year.