Delaware State Police Badge

Delaware State Police

Superintendent Colonel Melissa Zebley

Wilmington Man Arrested on Weapon and Felony DUI Charges Following Road Rage Incident- Lewes

Date Posted: Saturday, July 31st, 2021

Lewes, DE- Delaware State Police arrested a Wilmington man on weapon and felony DUI charges early Friday morning following a road rage incident in Lewes.

On July 30, 2021, at approximately 2:31 a.m., troopers were dispatched to the parking lot of Home Depot located at 17832 Coastal Highway, Lewes, for a road rage incident. A 31-year-old male called 911 after he was followed in his vehicle on Coastal Highway by an aggressive driver who then followed him into the Home Depot parking lot. Once in the parking lot, the aggressive driver, later identified as John Gillen, 56, of Wilmington, threw a lock at the male’s vehicle and began screaming at him. When troopers arrived on scene and contacted John, a strong odor of alcohol was detected, and a DUI investigation ensued. John was taken into custody, and an inventory search of his vehicle was conducted after he was detained incident to a DUI arrest. Located inside the car were the following items:

  • 1- Makeshift shank approximately 11 inches long
  • 1- Ozark Trail hatchet approximately 14 inches long

A computer search conducted revealed John is a person prohibited from owning a deadly weapon and has two prior DUI convictions. He was taken into custody without incident and transported to Troop 7, where he was charged with the following crimes:

  • Possession of a Deadly Weapon During the Commission of a Felony (Felony)
  • Possession of a Deadly Weapon by a Person Prohibited (Felony)
  • 3rd Offense Driving Under the Influence
  • Disorderly Conduct
  • Following a Motor Vehicle Too Closely

John was arraigned in the Justice of the Peace Court #3 and committed to Sussex Correctional Institution on a $65,150.00 cash bond.

If you or someone you know is a victim or witness of a crime or have lost a loved one to a sudden death and are in need of assistance, the Delaware State Police Victim Services Unit/Delaware Victim Center is available to offer you support and resources 24 hours a day through a toll-free hotline 1800 VICTIM-1. (1-800-842-8461). You may also email the unit Director at

You can follow the Delaware State Police by clicking on:

Delaware State Police Official Web Site




Please tell us how we’re doing via our Citizen Satisfaction Survey.

Presented by Public Information Officer, Master Corporal Heather Pepper

Released: 073121 1530


image_printPrint This Page

View All News Posts