Lewes Man Charged with Vehicular Assault and 3rd Offense DUI- Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach – The Delaware State Police have charged 46-year-old Matthew Gleason of Lewes with Vehicular Assault and 3rd Offense DUI, in connection with a motor vehicle crash involving a moped and with injuries.
The collision occurred on Friday, July 16, 2021, at approximately 7:37 p.m. when a 2005 Honda Element operated by Gleason was traveling southbound Bayside Outlet Drive approaching the intersection of Shuttle Road with a clearly posted stop sign. At this time, a 2008 Yamaha YW5 moped operated by a 34-year-old Lewes man, was traveling westbound on Shuttle Road in a group of approximately seven mopeds, approaching the intersection of Bayside Outlet Drive. For unknown reasons, the operator of the Honda failed to remain stopped and entered the intersection directly in front of the group mopeds. As a result, the front of the moped impacted the passenger side of the Honda. After the collision the moped rolled onto its side and came to a rest in the middle of the intersection with the operator still seated on the moped. The other mopeds were able to safely avoid the collision.
The operator of the moped was not wearing a helmet. He suffered serious injuries and was airlifted to Christiana Hospital where he is listed in critical condition.
Gleason was properly restrained and not injured as a result of the collision.
Further investigation determined that Gleason was driving under the influence of alcohol at the time of the crash and a subsequent computer check revealed that he had 2 prior DUI convictions.
Gleason was transported to Troop 7 and charged with the following:
- Vehicular Assault 1st Degree (Felony)
- 3rd Offense DUI (Felony)
- Failure to Stop at a Stop Sign
Gleason was arraigned in Justice of the Peace Court #3 and committed to the Sussex Correctional Institution on $5,050.00 cash bond.
The intersection of Shuttle Road and Bayside Outlet Drive was closed for approximately three hours while the crash was being investigated.
If you or someone you know is a victim or witness of crime or have lost a loved one to a sudden death and are in need of assistance, the Delaware State Police Victim Services Unit/Delaware Victim Center is available to offer you support and resources 24 hours a day through a toll free hotline 1800 VICTIM-1. (1800 842-8461). You may also email the unit Director at email@example.com.
You can follow the Delaware State Police by clicking on:
Please tell us how we’re doing via our Citizen Satisfaction Survey.
Presented by Public Information Officer, Senior Corporal Jason Hatchell