PROFESSIONAL LICENSING - PAWNBROKERS, SECONDHAND DEALERS & SCRAP METAL PROCESSORS

9. Pawnbrokers, Secondhand Dealers and Scrap Metal Processors

The licensure of a Pawnbroker, Secondhand Dealer or Scrap Metal Processor (PBSS) is governed by Title 24 Chapter 23 of the Delaware Code and the Rules & Regulations. For licensing purposes the definitions are as follows:

  • Pawnbroker – the business of lending money on the deposit or pledge of personal property or other valuable things; the purchase of personal property with an expressed or implied agreement or understanding to sell it back at a subsequent time at a stipulated price; or to lend money upon goods, wares or merchandise pledged, stored or deposited as collateral security.
  • Secondhand Dealer – the business includes any volume of selling or receiving previously owned, used, rented or leased tangible personal property.
  • Scrap Metal Processor – the business of selling or receiving any worn out or discarded metal, old iron, used plumbing fixtures, other metal, automobiles, automobile party, chain, copper, lead, brass or other parts of machinery.

Licensing/Renewal Procedures

  • Each business who is obtaining their initial license or seeking the renewal of an existing one must complete a Pawnbroker, Secondhand Dealer & Scrap Metal Processor (PBSS) application – Licensing Fee - $50.00 paid by company check, certified check, or money order made payable to Delaware State Police. An individual who is applying must complete the PBSS Applicant application, page 2. If the business is a partnership or a corporation, each partner/corporate officer must complete the PBSS Partner/Corporate Officer application, page 3.
  • Any business submitting a Renewal only needs to complete page one (1) of the application providing there have been no other changes in ownership or management.
  • All correspondence should be sent to the address listed on the application letterhead.
  • The Pawnbroker agency shall submit and maintain a $50,000 fire insurance policy. Please have your insurance agency use the below address for an additional insured:

Delaware State Police
Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE  19903

  • All PBSS applicants shall submit and maintain a Delaware Business License from the Delaware Division of Revenue.
  • The license must be displayed in the building whose address is listed on actual document. All licenses will expire December 31 of each year.

Criteria for licensure:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Must not have been convicted of any Felony within 5 years of application date.
  • Must not be convicted of any misdemeanor involving theft or fraud within 5 years of application date.
  • Must not be convicted of any misdemeanor involving drugs within 3 years of application date.

PBSS New/Renewal License Application

Initial applications can be submitted at anytime during the calendar year. Renewal applications must be submitted no later than March 15th of each year if you wish to continue to operate in the State of Delaware. Applications and questions should be directed to:

Mrs. Gail Willoughby
Professional Licensing
Delaware State Police
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE  19903
302-672-5337

Change in Agency Status

Should a business have a change in address, phone number, e-mail, contact or ownership, an e-mail must be sent to dspprofesisonallicensing@state.de.us immediately.

Laws, Rules & Regulations and Requirements

Delaware Code
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c023/index.shtml

Rules & Regulations
http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/2300.shtml

Electronic Reporting Requirements:

§         As required by law, all PBSS businesses must report specified As required by law, all PBSS businesses must report specified transactions via an online information system known as RAPID- Regional Automated Property Information Database. This system is facilitated by a third party vendor named Business Watch International or BWI. Once a business is initially licensed, BWI will grant access to the system and the PBSS entity will be required to report accordingly.

 

 

 

Last Updated: Wednesday, 09-Jan-2013 15:07:30 EST
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov