Yes, you must be working for a licensed agency in the State of Delaware.
The process usually takes a minimum of two weeks. However, it may take longer due to individual factors.
If it has been more than two weeks since the date of fingerprints you may call 302-739-5991 for an update.
See the links below for the Laws and Rules and Regulations. The list of disqualifying charges can be found in Title 24, Chapter 13, § 1316 Private investigator registration requirements.
A certified letter will be sent to the address on the individual’s application. A copy of the denial will also be sent to the agency listed on the application. The letter will give you instructions for your next steps.
We recommend starting the process at least two months before your expiration date.
You must notify the Professional Licensing Section within 5 business days, excluding weekends and holidays. Failure to report may result in the suspension or revocation of a license.
No, you must have a valid private investigator license on your person while performing duties.
No, you must apply for a Delaware License. We do not have reciprocity with any other states.
If I am no longer working with the agency listed on my license, but I switched to another agency, what do I do?
You must come into one of our two locations and fill out the provided form. The fee is $10.00 and you will receive your license with the new agency at that time.
You must come into one of our two locations and fill out the provided form. The fee is $10.00 and you will receive your replacement license at that time.
You must notify the Professional Licensing Section within 14 days.
Email Address: DSP_SBIDETECTIVELICENSINGMAIL@STATE.DE.US.
Phone number: 302-739-5991
Fax number: 302-739-5888
Professional Licensing Section
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE 19903